New Year, some musings

I’ve never been a great fan of New Year’s eve – all that enforced jollity and having to look as though everyone’s having a desperately good time. Quite often, I’ve avoided the big parties and spent New Year’s eve with a loved one or a few good friends in a quiet cottage somewhere, most definitely those have been my favourite NYE’s.  And don’t tell anyone, but I don’t always stay up until midnight 😉

Of course, it is inevitably a time of refletion, looking back at what we’ve achieved in the year, and the sadness of recalling what we have lost. And then there are always the New Year’s resolutions – ooh, do tell me, what are yours??

A new year, a new beginning, another chance to improve and reinvent ourselves by resolving to be better, kinder, busier, less busy, healthier etc etc.

I find myself in an interesting position this year for two reasons:

1) last year I had one resolution which worked rather well; and

2) having had my 40th birthday this year (I know, I know, I’m not really supposed to tell anyone that…), I have already spent a lot of time reflecting on what I’ve done, what I haven’t done and what I’d like to do, as well as thinking a lot about who I am and what I want. Not sure I’ve really worked that one out yet, but that’s a blog post for another day.

So if anything, New Year feels as though it’s come a little too soon. So do I avoid New Year’s resolutions altogether or do I simply repeat last year’s?

I think I’ll do the latter, which was (in case you’re interested) to do or try something new every day. And in 2011 (in case you’re interested) I think I’ll write a diary-type blog to record what each new thing is. I’m not sure I’ll resolve to write in it each and every single day though, that might just be a step too far……

Hopefully, that resolution will be as interesting in 2011 as it has been in 2010 🙂 xxxx

One thought on “New Year, some musings

  1. I can identify with your feelings towards big NYE parties. It all seems a bit forced and false. I’d much rather be with a small group of close friends whose wishes and dreams and hopes we can share, whose disappointments and sometimes failures we can be supportive of, and of who we share our love for each other.
    Although thinking about it, i don’t think i’ve actually had a NYE like that since i was a student.

Leave a Reply

