Being the new girl :-) (Updated)

So, the first (almost) three weeks have been a whirlwind, driving here, there and everywhere, meeting new people, trying to understand the why, what, who and where of a new organisation

It’s been hectic, it’s been demanding. But it has also been a lot of fun.

One of the things I’ve particularly enjoyed in a lot of respects, is being the new girl. No one quite knows what to expect…I think I can have a lot of fun with that 😉

To an extent, if I want, I can reinvent myself at work.  Whilst I can’t think of much worse than inventing a whole new personality for myself and then having to live with it, day after day, none of my new colleages have seen by any means all of the real me (mentally or emotionally – and most definitely not physically!)

This week has mainly consisted of meetings – my first technical meeting, my first team meeting and my first two (help!) senior management meetings as well as individual meetings with various staff. I’ve also written my press profile, a technical news article, and a client newsletter.

In all cases, I’ve listened, taken in as much as possible and tried to start fitting all the pieces of the jigsaw together. I’ve also really warmed to, and felt at ease with, the vast majority of people I’ve met. So I’m in the lucky position in a new job of being able to relax, be myself, and to really enjoy it.

I’m really hoping this continues….of course, over time I will gradually reveal more of myself 😛

And the story continues…

Another 3 or 4 weeks have passed, already I’m beginning to lose track of the weeks.

The team have started to relax, and I’m beginning to see a little more of their real personalities. I’ve made a few changes, am gearing up to make a few more. Nothing earth-shattering, mainly tweaks around the edges.

I’ve also been reminded again what a small world it is – something I should have expected with a move ‘back home’.  There are connections with old friends and others from my school all over the place. So I’m now the new girl, but with local roots. I rather like that combination.

I’ve also started to drop a few things into conversation about life outside work, hobbies, and past exploits. Haven’t mentioned the burlesque dancing yet though…

And when I left on Friday, one of the young lads’ parting shots was ‘have a great weekend, don’t do anything I wouldn’t do’ which got a good laugh from the team at the very prospect. The first hour or so of my journey home passed very quickly as I thought through some of the things I had done which he most probably wouldn’t 😉

But of course, I don’t know him that well, so I too could be making wild assumptions about his conservatism.  Only time will tell xxx

 

One thought on “Being the new girl :-) (Updated)

Leave a Reply

