Escaping to the country – story so far

Gosh, there may actually be progress in the long, drawn out saga.

I have taken the plunge and signed up for a rental property in the South West, so I will be moving at the end of next month.

Moving, and saying goodbye to being a ‘London person’, saying goodbye to the lifestyle I’ve become used to and reasonably adept at over the best part of the last two decades. I’m also saying goodbye to driving up and down the M4 once or twice a week and to living out of a suitcase.

I know in my head it will be very different – work and the team dynamic are different when everyone drives to work and there isn’t the chance for impromptu after work drinks on a regular basis. Living in a village will be very different from living in a town on a main line into London.  But whilst I know in my head it’ll be different, I also know that I won’t know how my heart will feel about it until it actually happens. So in some ways, however carefully I try to plan, I’ll be leaping into the unknown.

But I’ve found a lovely house, in a lovely village, a 20 minute commute from work. I’m getting settled in my job (although I’m still on probation). I’ve driven around a lot already so I’m getting to know the lie of the land. I’ve found a hairdresser and a flying club…I’ve even found a burlesque venue although I haven’t been there yet.

And as I’ve said in other posts, I know that the people who really count will still be there for me, regardless of geography, and that’s what really matters.

And of course, I’ve organised things so there will be plenty of opportunities to get back to London for a night or two 🙂

So thank you for all the support and kind words so far, particularly in those weeks when things have really started to get to me.  The light at the end of the tunnel is now in sight, although I can’t be sure yet exactly what awaits me when I emerge into the light xxx

Leave a Reply

