Depression as a disability

Food for thought x

Completely Unravelled

TeerapunI was raised fairly open-minded, meaning that I was exposed to a variety of different people, abilities and culture. What I learned is that everyone’s trying to do the best with what they have.

Having said that, when someone says they are disabled, I think of someone in a wheelchair, or someone with delayed learning or someone who is visually impaired.

Wikipedia describes a disability as “an impairment that may be physical, cognitive, mental, sensory, emotional, developmental, or some combination of these. A disability may be present from birth, or occur during a person’s lifetime.”

When I first inquired about applying for income assistance, one of the first questions they asked me was if I had a disability. I immediately said no. They said “Are you sure? Not even depression or anxiety?” I still said no, even though my depression and anxiety were at an all-time low.

I thought about…

View original post 369 more words

Leave a Reply

