2013 has been quite a year, roll on 2014 :-)

So, 2013 was the year I started my own business – after years of saying I could/would never do such a thing and about 6 months of telling people I was about to do it.

It’s been amazing.  Amazingly exhilarating while at the same time incredibly scary, heartwarming and eye-opening.

Having now tried it for all of 10 months, I would take my hat (and possibly a few other garments if you were to ask really nicely) off to anyone who manages to stay self-employed and solvent for any period of time.

Barring any great disasters, the business is now self-funding and even paying me some money when I have the nerve to draw some out…the number of people I have to thank for supporting me to this point is not quite endless but too long to keep your attention: it includes friends who have trustingly become my client (in some cases without actually asking for a “mates rates” discount on the fees), clients who have paid be early, my mum who offered me an investment of what she could afford which is my company’s emergency money, not to mention many, many people on twitter and other media who have offered kind words of encouragement, occasionally keeping me from total despair 🙂

In other news (to use that well-coined phrase for the last time in 2013) I got myself off the anti-depressants, injured myself skiing (thankfully not permanently – although I would not recommend getting one’s face in the way of a button lift), and became a Finance Director.  A bit of a mixed bag but I am rather liking the rollercoaster of endless opportunties tempered by (again) the blind panic when things just don’t seem to be going in the right direction.

Personally/romantically, things are as complex as ever – probably the subject of another blog…

In summary, am in a better place than this time last year…physically as am near the seaside and emotionally ever so slightly more well-balanced.  Thank you to everyone reading this – if you are one of those who deserves a big hug for your contribution to my 2013, hopefully you will realise and cash it in at the appropriate point in 2014 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

