Just a few new year’s resolutions…

If you’ve been reading this blog for a while (and paying attention, I know, rather a big ask) you may recall that I’m not a fan of ‘giving things up’, it doesn’t seem like a terribly positive way to live one’s life.  I try to take something new up for lent each year, for example.

Now we have the start of 2014, a chance, possibly, to wipe the slate clean in some areas, to start afresh, make new plans, change bad habits.

With all this optimism and the appeal of instant betterment, the temptation to make lots of promises to myself that I’ll have forgotten before the end of January is still quite strong, but my first resolution is to resist that very temptation.

Instead of aiming for a shiny new me (possibly also thinner, fitter and perkier, more energetic and more successful) before the end of January, I am going to change (change, not give up) or start one thing each month in 2014: here are the first few, I want it to be a dynamic list, not a static one, so I plan to update/change as the year goes on.

So, here’s my attempt number 1:

January – organise myself: set aside time in my diary for trips to the gym, shopping, time with friends etc as well as work and make those appointments immoveable;

February – join a yoga class and attend without fail;

March – research and book an Easter holiday in the sun;

April – celebrate my birthday in style with the people I want to be with rather than conforming to family expectations/peer pressure;

May – join a dance class and attend without fail;

June – to be continued 🙂

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

